Archive

Daily Archives: May 1, 2014

Tomorrow I’m off to a writing conference, The Muse and the Marketplace, put on by my favorite Boston writing hangout, Grub Street.  Emotions always run a bit high leading up to a conference (full disclosure: I do conference planning for my actual job), so I decided to make a list of everything I should bring, so I’m not running around last minute trying to stuff random useless things into my purse (full disclosure: I am late to EVERYTHING).

So, with my background as a conference planner, one-time writing conference attendee, and overall over-packer, what is on my list?

  • Purse big enough to hold everything
  • Business cards (I just got fancy ones!)
  • Phone & charger
  • Notepad
  • Pens
  • Granola bars (I never believe anyone when they say they will have vegetarian options.)
  • Water bottle (Trick I learned after doing three three-day conferences in a month, 5 am to 10 pm–DRINK WATER.  Do not drink caffeinated beverages after your normal amount.  Caffeine is dehydrating.  Hotels are dehydrating.  With their powers combined…you feel awful.  Drink water.)
  • Chromebook (maybe.  Depends on how much I love back pain.)
  • Registration confirmation email
  • Folders to hold things in
  • Wallet
  • Gum and mints
  • A-Game and confidence (if I can find it…I know I put it somewhere around here…)

I’m almost all packed.  Now the really hard question–what to wear?

PS. I can’t guarantee that my purse contains only what is on my list